Skip to content

Generator Brands: How to Compare Them

Updated 2026-09-30 · 6 min read

Gear this guide recommends

We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend — see our affiliate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

All inverter generator picks
Jump to a section▾

Generator brand comparisons date quickly — models change, product lines get renamed, and specifications shift year to year. What doesn't change is what to compare.

What actually differentiates brands

FactorWhy it matters
EngineSome makers build their own, others source; parts availability follows
Dealer and service networkDecides how fast a standby unit gets fixed
Parts availabilityFilters, plugs, boards — years from now
Inverter technologyClean power for electronics
Noise rating (dBA)Varies widely, matters with neighbours
Warranty length and termsStandby especially
Transfer switch integrationMatched systems install cleaner
Fuel flexibilityDual fuel, tri-fuel options

For a standby unit, the dealer network matters more than the spec sheet — an unrepairable generator is worse than none. For portables, parts availability and noise are the differentiators buyers regret ignoring.

What should you compare between generator brands?

1. The engine

Often the most important component, and frequently not made by the company whose name is on the housing.

Many generator manufacturers fit engines from specialist engine makers. Others build their own. Either can be good — what matters is:

  • Is it a known engine with documented service intervals?
  • Are parts available locally, or only by mail order?
  • Will a small-engine shop work on it? Some shops decline unfamiliar engines.

A generator is an engine with an alternator attached. When something fails, it's usually the engine side.

2. Service and parts network

The single most underweighted factor.

A generator lives 10 to 20 years. Over that time you'll need filters, plugs, a carburetor, maybe a control board. Ask:

  • Is there a dealer within a reasonable distance?
  • Are parts stocked, or ordered?
  • Who services it under warranty, and where do you take it?
  • For standby units, who does the annual service, and are they responsive?

A well-supported mid-tier generator beats a premium one nobody nearby will touch. This matters more for standby units, where installation and annual service are effectively part of the product.

3. Warranty terms

Read what's actually covered:

  • Length, and whether it differs for engine and alternator
  • Parts only, or parts and labor? Labor is often the larger cost
  • Registration requirements — many warranties require it within a window
  • Maintenance documentation requirements. Many standby warranties require documented annual service, and claims have been denied for missing records
  • Who performs warranty work, and how far away they are

4. Build quality signals

Things you can assess without a lab:

  • Full-panel GFCI protection on portable units
  • Low-oil shutdown, which is near-universal but confirm it
  • CO shutoff sensor — a genuinely valuable safety feature on newer portables, and worth prioritizing
  • Hour meter, which makes interval-based maintenance possible
  • Accessible service points — can you reach the oil drain and the air filter without disassembly?
  • Fuel gauge, and a fuel shutoff valve
  • Wheel and handle quality, on anything you'll move
  • Published THD figure, if power quality matters — see sensitive electronics and generators

Which generator brand is best for each use?

Rather than brands, think in categories — the category determines more than the badge.

Small inverter (1,000–2,500 W). Quiet, light, clean power. Camping, tailgating, minimal outage coverage. See RV and camping generators.

Mid inverter (3,000–5,000 W). The sweet spot for many households — quiet enough to live with, clean power, enough capacity for essentials. Often dual fuel.

Large inverter (5,000–9,000 W). Covers most homes' essentials with quiet operation and clean power. More expensive per watt.

Conventional open-frame portable (5,000–12,000 W). Cheapest per watt, loud, higher THD. Fine for tools and motors, less ideal for electronics.

Standby (10–26 kW). Permanently installed, automatic, natural gas or propane. A different purchase entirely — the installation, fuel supply, and service relationship matter as much as the unit. See standby generator installation cost.

Reading specifications honestly

Running watts, not surge watts. Marketing leads with the larger number. Size on the running rating — see starting watts vs running watts.

The rating for the fuel you'll use. Propane output runs roughly 10% below gasoline; natural gas lower again.

Noise at what load? Inverter ratings are often quoted at 25% load. Ask for the full-load figure.

Runtime at what load? Same issue — runtime figures are usually at 25% or 50%.

Receptacle configuration. A generator without a 240 V outlet can't run a well pump regardless of its wattage. See the NEMA plug chart.

Here is that reading applied to the six inverter generators we track, from Honda, Westinghouse, WEN and Champion. Two are 120 V only, four publish a separate propane rating, all six carry a CO auto-shutoff, and none of the six states the distance its noise figure was measured at.

We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend — see our affiliate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

ProductTypeBest forOutput (gasoline)VoltageOutletsCO shutoffParallelRun timeNoiseStartWeightWarrantyEmissionsOutput (propane)Neutral
Westinghouse iGen12000DFcLarge inverter (6,000 W+ running)Home backup of the essentials — fridge, freezer, furnace blower, well or sump pump — through a transfer switch9,000 W running / 12,000 W peak120/240 V; 37.5 A running at 240 V on gasoline120/240 V 14-50R (50 A), 120/240 V L14-30R (30 A), 120 V 5-20R GFCI duplexCO sensor — shuts the generator down if dangerous CO levels are detected nearbyWith 240 V Westinghouse inverter models (240 V parallel cables sold separately)19 hr at 25% load on 7.9 gal gasoline; 9 hr at 25% on a 20 lb propane tankAs low as 64 dBA (distance not stated)Electric, remote key fob, recoil189 lb dry, wheel kit included3-year limited residential, 1-year commercialEPA compliant; not CARB compliant8,100 W running / 11,000 W peakBonded
Honda EU2200i (EU2200ITAN)Small inverter (under 3,000 W running)A refrigerator, internet and electronics through an outage, or quiet power at a campsite1,800 W rated (15 A) / 2,200 W max (18.3 A); gasoline only120 V onlyOne 20 A 125 V duplex — no RV (TT-30R) outlet, no 240 VCO-MINDER — shuts the generator down before detected CO levels near it become dangerously highTwo EU2200i (or an EU2000i) with Honda's optional cable — up to 4,400 W max3.2 hr at rated load, 8.1 hr at 1/4 load on 0.95 gal57 dB(A) at rated load, 48 dB(A) at 1/4 load (distance not stated)Recoil47.4 lb dry3 years residential, 12 months commercialNot for sale in California (Honda)——
WEN DF680iXMid-size inverter (3,000–6,000 W running)Furnace blower, fridge and sump pump in an outage, or an RV with one air conditioner5,100 W rated / 6,800 W surge120 V / 240 V by selector switch; 21.25 A at 240 V on gasoline120/240 V L14-30R, 120 V TT-30R (RV), two 120 V 5-20R, 12 V DC, 2× USBCO Watchdog — automatically shuts the generator down if CO levels get too highWith another 240 V WEN inverter via WEN's 240 V parallel kit (240 V only)6.1 hr at half load on 2.9 gal gasoline; 9 hr at half load on a 20 lb propane tank64 dB at 1/4 load (distance not stated)Electric, recoil backup94.8 lb3-year limited—4,500 W rated / 6,000 W surgeBonded (WEN)
Champion 8500W Wireless Start Tri Fuel Inverter (201537)Large inverter (6,000 W+ running)Homes with natural gas or a large propane tank that want an inverter instead of a standby unit6,500 W running / 8,500 W starting120/240 V; 27.1 A running at 240 V on gasoline120/240 V 14-50R (27.1 A), 120 V TT-30R, two 120 V 5-20R GFCI duplexes, 12 V DC — no L14-30RCO Shield — automatically shuts off the engine on unsafe, elevated CO; meets ANSI/PGMA G300No13 hr at 1/4 load on 4.5 gal gasoline; 12 hr at 1/4 load on propane (tank size not stated)64 dB(A) (distance not stated)Wireless remote (up to 80 ft), electric, recoil132.3 lb3-year limitedEPA certified5,850 W running / 8,500 W starting—
Honda EU7000iSMid-size inverter (3,000–6,000 W running)Quiet, transfer-switch-ready 240 V backup for essentials when reliability matters more than watts per dollar5,500 W rated / 7,000 W max; gasoline only120/240 V by selector switch; 22.9 A per leg in 120/240 V mode30 A 120/240 V locking (NEMA L14-30), 30 A 120 V locking (NEMA L5-30), two 20 A 120 V GFCI duplexesCO-MINDER — shuts the generator down before detected CO levels near it become dangerously highTwo EU7000iS with Honda's optional kit — up to 14,000 W6.4 hr at rated load, 16 hr at 1/4 load on 5.1 gal58 dB(A) at rated load, 52 dB(A) at 1/4 load (distance not stated)Electric, recoil backup263.2 lb dry, wheel kit standard3 years residential, 12 months commercialThis 49-state version is not sold in California; Honda's EU7000iSNAC is the CARB-compliant 50-state model——
Westinghouse iGen2550DFcSmall inverter (under 3,000 W running)A fridge and essentials on propane, or light use in a 30 A RV1,900 W running / 2,550 W peak120 V only — not transfer switch ready (Westinghouse)120 V TT-30R (30 A RV), 120 V 5-20R duplex, 2× USBCO sensor (Westinghouse's CO sensor shuts the engine down when CO builds up)With a compatible Westinghouse inverter (cables sold separately)11 hr at 25% load, 7 hr at 50% on 1.1 gal gasoline52 dBA (distance not stated)Recoil43.2 lb dry3-year limited residential, 1-year commercialNot CARB compliant1,700 W running / 2,300 W peakFloating

What should you check before buying a generator?

  1. Size it first with the generator sizing calculator — capacity determines the category
  2. Decide inverter or conventional, based on noise tolerance and what you'll power
  3. Decide fuel, based on storage and outage length — see dual fuel and tri-fuel generators
  4. Check local service and parts for the specific model
  5. Read the warranty, including labor and maintenance requirements
  6. Confirm the receptacles match what you need
  7. Check for a CO shutoff sensor on portables

Where to go next

More in our generator and backup power guides.

Frequently asked questions

There isn't a single answer, and anyone giving one is guessing. What matters is matching the product category to your need and confirming local service and parts availability — a well-supported mid-tier unit beats a premium one nobody nearby will service.

Ask AI about this

Open an AI assistant with a question grounded in this page.